Behind a family group photo…

6 photos of children

Six of the photos I got during the photo shoot. (And what I had to work with to achieve one good photo.)

10 children.

The photo I started with. The one where the most children looked the best.

Every year I take a photo of my nieces and nephews. This a tradition started for my Grandmother’s benefit, but one that has continued on after she passed a couple years ago. She mentioned that she did not have enough room for individual photos of all of her great grandchildren (~20) in her small apartment… not even on the refrigerator. So for Christmas I took a group photo of all my nieces and nephew… thus a tradition was born. I usually shoot the photo when we’re all together for Thanksgiving. I then make enlargements for my Grandmother, Parents and Sisters. In addition to being a nice gift it is also an interesting recording of them as they grow up. This year there were a few hiccups during the photo shoot and while they are all old enough that it should have been easier to capture a photo with all of them looking their best it did not happen. The ideal is to get the perfect photo in one shot, but when that fails I have to do some photo retouching in PhotoShop. Below are a couple of pieces taken from other photos and layered into the photo I chose to start with. After some cloning, airbrush work, and blending in the pieces cut from other photos I have a photo where everyone is looking their best.

Young girl in a dress

L cut out of another photo to be added to the finished photo.

Face of smiling girl.

E’s face from another photo. Once on a layer, I softened the edges and blended the skin tones so it looked like part of the finished photo… color and tone.

10 children

The finished photo that I gave out this year for Christmas to my family.

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x
x

Below are some photos of my nieces and nephews over the years.

13 children

Group photo 2012. 10 nieces and nephews, plus my sister’s fiancé’s 3 children.

12 children

Group photo 2011. 10 nieces and nephews, plus 2 of my sister’s fiancé’s children.

12 Children + 2

Group photo 2010. 9 nieces and nephews, plus 2 of my sister’s fiancé’s children. There is an inset because one of my nephews had left by the time the photo was taken.

10 children

Nieces and Nephews in 2007.

10 children making faces

Nieces and Nephews in 2006… making goofy faces.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

